Hotel Fregehaus

A hotel in leipzig for individualists

Guests can find the Hotel Fregehaus in Leipzig tucked away behind the facade of an historic merchant’s house. It is located right in the city centre, with access to many cultural and tourist attractions, restaurants and shops.

Guests can enjoy 20 rooms and apartments, an historic parlour and a lovely courtyard.

During renovation, great emphasis was placed on maintaining original style elements so as to preserve the building’s charm and authenticity.

As a boutique hotel we are not geared towards standards; we aim to attract travellers who appreciate a truly special interior, the hotel’s central location and our personal service.

It is important to us that we work with the location and the building’s special character.

History of the Fregehaus

The Fregehaus is one of the most beautiful historic buildings in Leipzig’s old town. In 1705, the merchant Gottfried Otto purchased the property at what is now Katharinenstraße 11. Between 1706 and 1707, he had Leipzig master builder Johann Gregor Fuchs convert the site’s Renaissance-era house (presumably built in 1535) to incorporate a baroque style.

The building is composed of four wings arranged around a square courtyard. The symmetrical main facade is notable for its oriel windows decorated with fruit garlands. Parts of the old building that have been preserved include the groin vaulting in the hall on the ground floor.

The Fregehaus owes its name to the banker Christian Gottlob Frege Jr., who acquired it in 1782 and whose private customers included none other than Johann Wolfgang von Goethe. Up until 1945 the building was the headquarters of the Frege family’s private bank, and subsequently, until 1976, the headquarters of the family’s trading company.

The hostess

Sabine Fuchshuber

My name is Sabine Fuchs­huber and I studied archi­tecture in Weimar and London.

During my frequent travels in various countries, I have experienced and gotten to know all manner of hotels when staying in big cities and small towns.

I have always found staying in small, individually run hotels the most exciting and the most interesting; hotels where I can experience traces of the past and meet interesting people with fascinating stories. This is what inspired me to one day run my own hotel and welcome my own guests. But I was never able to find the right place. I have now found what I was looking for – the Fregehaus – and my dream can at last become a reality.

I have of course spent a great deal of time planning and thinking about hotels. Why do I like a particular hotel and when do I feel comfortable? Personally, I find that a truly nice hotel is what completes any stay in a strange place; it makes the trip balanced.

I want my guests to experience this feeling as well. My aim is to attract travellers who appreciate a personal, individual atmosphere.

Das Hotel

Es gibt ein neues Hotel im Zentrum von Leipzig. Hinter der Fassade eines historischen Kaufmannshauses erwartet nun das Hotel Fregehaus seine Gäste. Es liegt direkt in der Leipziger Innenstadt, mit Anbindung an die vielfältigen kulturellen Einrichtungen, Sehenswürdigkeiten, Restaurants und Läden.

Das Hotel stellt seinen Gästen 20 Hotelzimmer, Appartements und eine Wohnung sowie einen historischen Salon und einen wunderschönen Innenhof zur Verfügung.

Bei der Renovierung wurde großer Wert auf die Erhaltung originaler Stilelemente gelegt, um den Charme und die Authentizität des Hauses zu erhalten.

Als Boutique-Hotel und Hotel garni orientieren wir uns nicht an Standards. Wir möchten Reisende ansprechen, die Wert auf eine besondere Einrichtung, die zentrale Lage und eine persönliche Betreuung legen.

Uns ist es wichtig, mit dem Standort und dem besonderen Charakter des Gebäudes zu arbeiten.

Die Geschichte des Fregehauses

Das Fregehaus ist eines der schönsten historischen Gebäude in der Altstadt von Leipzig. Der Kaufmann Gottfried Otto kaufte 1705 das Grundstück in der heutigen Katharinenstraße 11 und ließ das dort befindliche Renaissancehaus (erbaut vermutlich 1535) in den Jahren 1706 bis 1707 vom Leipziger Ratsmaurermeister Johann Gregor Fuchs im barocken Stil umbauen.

Das aus vier Flügeln bestehende Gebäude ist um einen rechtwinkligen Innenhof herum angelegt. Die symmetrische Hauptfassade ist von einem mit Fruchtgirlanden verzierten Kastenerker gekennzeichnet. Zu den erhaltenen Teilen des Vorgängerbaus gehört das Kreuzgewölbe der Haushalle im Erdgeschoss.

Seinen heutigen Namen verdankt das Fregehaus dem Bankier Christian Gottlob Frege in zweiter Generation, der es 1782 erwarb und zu dessen Privatkunden nicht zuletzt Johann Wolfgang von Goethe gehörte. Das Haus blieb bis 1945 Sitz der Privatbank der Familie Frege und bis 1976 Sitz des Handelshauses.

Die Gastgeberin

Sabine Fuchshuber

Ich bin Sabine Fuchs­huber und ich habe in Weimar und London Archi­tektur studiert.

Bei meinen vielen Reisen und Aufenthalten in großen und kleinen Städten verschiedener Länder, habe ich die unterschiedlichsten Hotels erlebt und kennengelernt.

Am spannendsten und interessantesten waren für mich immer die Aufenthalte in kleinen individuell geführten Hotels, in denen die Spuren der Zeit erlebbar waren und in denen ich auf interessante Menschen und Lebensgeschichten getroffen bin.

Die Idee, eines Tages mein eigenes Hotel zu führen und Gastgeber zu werden, ist hier entstanden. Allerdings fehlte mir bisher der geeignete Ort.

Diesen habe ich nun im Fregehaus gefunden und kann mir jetzt meinen Traum erfüllen.

Natürlich habe ich im Vorfeld viel über Hotels nachgedacht. Warum gefällt mir ein Hotel und wann fühle ich mich wohl? Mir persönlich gestaltet ein für mein Empfinden schönes Hotel den Aufenthalt in einer fremden Stadt erst rund und ausgewogen. Dieses Gefühl möchte ich gerne an meine Gäste weitergeben. Mein Ziel ist es, Reisende zu gewinnen, die Wert auf eine persönliche und individuelle Atmosphäre legen.